AfricaGIS 2019 Conference in Kigali Rwanda 18 - 22 November 2019

Registration Opens 2 April 2019

AfricaGIS is the largest Geospatial, Science and Technology conference on the African Continent.  The conference is held every two years and is organised by EIS-Africa, a pan African non-profit organisation. The AfricaGIS Conference and Exhibition series have become a flagship Geospatial Information marketplace in Africa. For the past 20 years, the series have contributed immensely to the development of skills and institutional capacity in geoinformation across the continent.
The Conference will explore the role of innovations in geospatial information and its implication in addressing the 17 targets of the Sustainable Development Goals for an inclusive, prosperous and sustainable African continent. AfricaGIS will offer different interactive sessions including plenary sessions featured by valuable keynote presentations, parallel sessions for oral presentations, poster presentations and Exhibitions.

AfricaGIS 2019 will be hosted by the University of Rwanda and supported by UNECA, UNGGIM Africa, GMES in Africa, GEO and Digital Earth Africa.

Call for Abstracts

The call for abstracts is now OPEN.

Submit your abstract to the AfricaGIS 2019 team here.
You will be notified of your successful application by one of the team with a reference number. Please note all speakers will be required to register on the website.

Talks will be approximately 20 minutes on the following sub-themes:

Submit to: by 1 May 2019
(no more than 1 page, submissions in English, pdf preferable)

A special issue of a refereed journal will include a selection of the best papers.

Sponsors and Exhibition

It is with great pleasure that we invite you to this year’s AfricaGIS international geospatial conference, from the 18th – 22nd November 2019. AfricaGIS 2019 is a unique opportunity for you to meet with the worldwide geospatial community where you can maximize your visibility and showcase your products. Below the information you need in order to book your participation.

Contact to become a sponsor.

$30,000$20,000$15,000$ 10,000
Prioritized location selection of exhibition space (i.e. highest sponsors to lowest sponsors)
2 x free booths

1 x free booth

1 x free booth

1 x free booth
Appointment of speaker in a plenary session21  
Venue for the organisation of workshop1   
Number of free registrations6532
Logo on conference bag   
Logo on conference and exhibition related publications
Logo on conference banners or backdrop
Logo on conference publicity flyer (updates as received)
Logo in email confirmation of registration to participants  
Email blast about company's participation to participants and to media sponsors1   
Corporate profile, logo, company web link on conference website200 words150 words100 words100 words
Display of corporate banner at selected plenary sessions and/or break sessions21  
Corporate item(s) in conference bag2 items & 1-page flyer1 item & 1-page flyer1-page flyer1-page flyer
Acknowledgement during opening and closing sessions
Retention of corporate profile, logo and hyperlink in long-term archive of EIS Association

Exhibition Pricing

The registration fee for exhibitors is as follows:

  • Category 1: African organisations – $ 400 per standard booth. This includes 1 complimentary registration
  • Category 2: Non-African organisations – $ 1,000 per standard booth. This includes 1 complimentary registration

Contact to become an exhibitor

Floor Plan

Coming soon.

Mr Maurice Mugabowindekwe, Conference and Exhibition co-ordinator:

Hosting Partner

AfricaGIS 2019 will be hosted by the University of Rwanda. The University supports the development of Rwanda by discovering and advancing knowledge, is committed to the highest standards of academic excellence , where students are prepared for lives of service, leadership and solutions.

University of Rwanda

University of Rwanda


Esri, Inc

Esri, Inc

Organising Partners



Esri, Inc

Esri, Inc

University of Rwanda

University of Rwanda

Organising Committee

Sives Govender

Clarisse Kagoyire

Gaspard Rwanyiziri

Maurice Mugabowindekwe

Kaspar Kundert

Jacob Gyamfi-Aidoo

Lauren Sweidan

Bruce McCormack

Larna Jackson